UK SEO providers who publish their own, unbundled price for a named SEO service, checked 24 to 25 September 2026, quote a median entry-level monthly retainer of £497 (61 providers) and a median top-of-range price of £1,493.50 (34 of those 61 that also state a ceiling). 50% of UK-based or UK-serving providers checked publish a qualifying price at all; the rest show a market-range article, a bundled price, or no price.
The panel covers 75 UK agencies and freelancers with a published price, from 150 UK provider sites screened on 24 and 25 September 2026. The method lists every inclusion and exclusion rule.
How much does SEO cost in the UK?
Among the 61 providers in this panel that publish an entry-level monthly retainer price, the median is £497/month. Among the 34 of those 61 that also publish a stated ceiling for that retainer, the median top price is £1,493.50/month.
median entry-level retainer price, 61 UK providers, checked Sep 2026
median top-of-range retainer price, 34 of those 61 that state a ceiling
share of UK-based or UK-serving, reachable SEO providers checked that publish their own, un-bundled SEO price
UK SEO monthly retainer prices, published by providers themselves
| UK SEO monthly retainer prices, published by providers themselves | Value |
|---|---|
| Median entry price (n=61) | 497 |
| Q1 entry price | 300 |
| Q3 entry price | 640 |
| Median top price (n=34) | 1493.5 |
| Q3 top price | 2,000 |
Source: Sunny Patel, frozen panel of 75 UK providers
7 providers in this panel publish their own hourly rate (£30 to £300) and 1 publishes a day rate (£400) for one-off projects. Hourly and daily figures are two different units and are never pooled into one number on this page; neither group reaches this study's 8-provider minimum, so neither is reported as a median.
What do UK SEO providers actually charge, by service?
The panel was predeclared to report a median or interquartile range only for a service category with at least 8 providers publishing a price in it.
| Service | Providers with own price (n) | Median entry price | Median top price | Median reported? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly retainer | 61 (34 also state a ceiling) | £497/mo | £1,493.50/mo | Yes |
| Hourly rate | 7 | not reported, n<8 | n/a | No, raw points only |
| Day rate | 1 | not reported, n<8 | n/a | No, raw points only |
| One-off SEO audit | 5 | not reported, n<8 | not reported, n<8 | No, raw points only |
| Local SEO | 4 | not reported, n<8 | not reported, n<8 | No, raw points only |
| Link building | 2 | not reported, n<8 | not reported, n<8 | No, raw points only |
The 5 providers with a published audit price state £60, £349, £397, £500 and £1,500 as their starting figure. The 4 with a published local SEO price state £350, £350, £395 and £650. Both are individual data points, not a UK-wide median, even after a second collection round aimed specifically at growing these categories: audit and local SEO prices are simply rare on a UK provider's own site compared with general retainer pricing.
What share of UK SEO providers publish a price?
150 UK-based or UK-serving, reachable provider domains were checked across both collection days (182 unique domains touched in total, minus 12 non-UK providers, 17 domains where the page returned an access error, and 3 domains that only returned a redirect). 75 of the 150 published their own price for a named SEO service without folding it into an unrelated bundle. That is a 50% publish rate.
Of the other 75, most show a generic market-range article, a "from £X" figure that describes the whole market rather than their own fee, a price for a bundled non-SEO service, or ask for contact details before quoting a price at all.
What does provider type and region show?
Of the 75 included providers, 72 are agencies and 3 are independent freelancers. That is still too few freelancers to report a separate freelancer median against the agency figures above. The 3 freelancer data points are an hourly rate of £150 (minimum 3 hours), a rate of £300 per 60-minute session, and a combination of a £500/month retainer with a £400 day rate for one-off projects.
London and South East providers publish the highest entry retainer in this panel: a median of £640/month across 13 providers, against £399 to £500/month in every other region group. The 42 providers in a named region outside London and the South East have a median entry retainer of £497/month.
| Region group | Providers (n) | Median entry | Middle 50% |
|---|---|---|---|
| London and South East | 13 | £640/mo | £299 to £800 |
| North of England | 17 | £500/mo | £497 to £650 |
| Midlands | 9 | £400/mo | £360 to £500 |
| Scotland, Wales and NI | 11 | £399/mo | £275 to £500 |
| Other and unassigned | 11 | £400/mo | £279 to £500 |
UK SEO monthly retainer prices by region group
| UK SEO monthly retainer prices by region group | Value |
|---|---|
| London and South East (n=13) | 640 |
| North of England (n=17) | 500 |
| Midlands (n=9) | 400 |
| Scotland, Wales and NI (n=11) | 399 |
| Other and unassigned (n=11) | 400 |
Source: Sunny Patel, frozen panel of 75 UK providers
That is all 61 retainer providers, matching the national retainer n above, and every row clears the 8-provider minimum. The 10 recorded regions are grouped because 8 of them had fewer than 8 retainer providers on their own; London (6) and the South East (7) are combined as one commuter market, and Scotland (4) and Wales/NI (7) as the devolved nations. The "other and unassigned" row pools regions too small to stand alone (South West 4, UK-wide/remote 5, East of England 1, not stated 1), so read it as a remainder, not a region. The London and South East spread is also the widest in the panel, from a £24/month entry product to £2,000/month, so its higher median sits on a wide range.
Directory-reported hourly rates and minimum project size (Clutch)
This is a separate source from every figure above: self-reported bands shown on each agency's own Clutch.co profile, not a price published on the agency's own website. It is never pooled with the site-published panel above, and Clutch states these bands in USD, not GBP; no currency conversion is applied here.
The predeclared sample was the first 10 UK SEO agencies listed on each of 5 Clutch city pages (London, Manchester, Birmingham, Scotland, Bristol), in listing order, checked 25 September 2026: 50 listing rows, counting an agency again each time it appears on a different city page rather than deduplicating to unique agencies.
| Hourly rate band | Listings (of 50) |
|---|---|
| $50-$99/hr | 15 |
| $100-$149/hr | 22 |
| $150-$199/hr | 8 |
| Not stated | 5 |
| Minimum project size band | Listings (of 50) |
|---|---|
| $1,000+ | 27 |
| $5,000+ | 15 |
| $10,000+ | 3 |
| Not stated | 5 |
$100-$149/hr is the single most common Clutch-reported band, in 22 of 50 listings, and a $1,000+ minimum project size is the most common band, in 27 of 50. Individual agency names from this directory sample are not published, per the same no-names rule used throughout this page.
What drives the price difference
Reading the pricing pages behind the £24-to-£2,000 spread in stated entry prices, and the £48-to-£10,000 spread in stated ceilings, a few patterns are visible in this panel.
Scope was not recorded systematically in this panel. Prices were the only field captured consistently across all 75 providers; what each price covers was read on some pages and not others, so this page does not report a scope-by-tier pattern. Ask any provider exactly what a quoted figure covers before comparing it against another.
Contract terms vary independently of price. Several of this panel's cheapest entry-price providers state no minimum term beyond a notice period; at least one states a 12-month minimum at the same £500 entry price another provider offers with no lock-in at all. Check contract length and price separately.
VAT is usually not stated. 22 of the 75 included providers state their price excludes VAT on at least one listed service. 1 states its price includes VAT. The remaining 52 say nothing about VAT either way. Confirm VAT treatment directly before comparing a quote against any figure on this page.
SEO agency pricing vs consultant pricing
A typical UK SEO agency retainer covers account management, shared tools and templates, and execution by staff who split attention across several accounts. An independent consultant charging a comparable fee delivers their own time directly, with lower overhead, in exchange for less production capacity than an agency team.
This panel's highest published ceiling, £10,000/month, comes from an agency naming enterprise-scale sites as the reason for the price. Check what team and seniority the fee actually buys at any price point before comparing agency and consultant quotes against each other.
Red flags in SEO pricing
A few patterns are worth checking for regardless of the headline price.
A very low monthly fee with no defined deliverables. Ask exactly what the fee covers before comparing it against a higher-priced quote.
A guarantee of specific rankings by a specific date. No provider controls Google's algorithm. A firm date for a named ranking position is either targeting a near-zero-competition term or a promise unlikely to hold.
A long minimum term with no review point. At least one provider in this panel requires a 12-month minimum at the same entry price another offers with no lock-in. Ask what happens, and what you owe, if the work is not delivering by the first review.
A price that never changes regardless of scope. If your requirements or the market shift and the fee does not, ask what specifically the fee still covers.
What good value looks like
Value compares organic growth against spend, not the headline price alone. Ask each provider for:
- Prioritised recommendations specific to your site
- A stated timeline for the first measurable result, and what "measurable" means
- A plain description of their methodology, beyond a list of deliverable names
- The contract minimum and what happens at the review point
- Monthly reporting that covers rankings and business outcomes alongside traffic and impressions
Getting an honest quote
A quote given before any conversation about your goals, current rankings and competitive position has not been scoped to your site.
If you want a starting point priced up front, my own technical SEO audit is a fixed £495, delivered within 5 working days of agreed access, with a 60-minute findings walkthrough included.
Method
Frame. On 24 September 2026 I ran 14 fixed Google queries for UK SEO prices, national and in 6 regions, plus 4 follow-up queries for thin service types. On 25 September I added fixed city and service-type queries across 33 more UK towns, cities and nations, plus fixed-fee audit, hourly rate, day rate, package and fixed monthly fee searches, until 150 UK-reachable domains had been screened. Results were pooled and deduplicated by domain.
Fetches. 186 comparator page fetches were attempted across 182 unique provider domains. 166 pages were successfully read; 17 returned an access error (403, 429, 404, timeout, DNS failure, connection refused, or bot verification block); 3 only returned a redirect to a different domain, which was then fetched separately in its own right. Sunny Patel's own pricing page was checked separately, once, to confirm the audit price cited above, and is not part of the comparator panel or any count on this page.
Inclusion rule. A UK-based agency or freelancer's own website, or one with a .co.uk/.uk domain or an explicit UK service area stated on the page (not a directory, roundup or marketplace listing), publishing at least one numeric GBP price for a named SEO service on the page itself, without a bundled non-SEO service folded into the same figure.
Exclusion rule, each counted, not silently dropped. 12 non-UK domains, 17 domains where the page returned an access error, and 75 UK-based or UK-serving reachable domains with no qualifying own price: a generic market-range article, a "from £X" figure describing the whole market rather than the provider's own fee, a "contact us" page, or a price for a bundled non-SEO service (2 domains: one bundled SEO with Google Ads and conversion work, one bundled SEO with social media posting into a single package price).
Directory sample. A separate, predeclared sample of Clutch.co's self-reported agency hourly-rate and minimum-project-size bands: first 10 UK SEO agencies per 5 city pages, 50 listing rows, reported as band frequencies in USD, never pooled with the site-published panel; see above.
VAT. Recorded exactly as stated on each page. Most state nothing either way.
Minimum publish threshold. Predeclared: a service or region bucket is reported as a median or interquartile range only with at least 8 providers in it. Sub-8 buckets are shown as individual figures, not averaged. The regional groupings in the region table were set after collection, on 27 September 2026, so every group clears that threshold; each provider keeps its original recorded region.
Calculation. Median and quartiles use linear interpolation at position (n-1) x p. A "from £X" price with no stated ceiling is counted in the entry-price statistic and excluded from the top-price statistic. The fetch ledger, raw panel and compute script are kept on file. Provider names and URLs are not published.
No providers named. Every figure on this page is reported by provider type and region only, the same convention used on sunnypatel.co.uk's other data pages.
Limitations
This panel describes what 75 UK-based or UK-serving providers who chose to publish an unbundled price stated over two days. It is not a random or representative sample of the UK SEO market: providers that publish a price likely skew toward more standardised offers, and providers doing custom, senior-led work may be more likely to sit among the 50% that publish no qualifying figure. A published list price is also not necessarily what a client pays after negotiation.
Only the monthly retainer category reached the 8-provider minimum for a reported median nationally; hourly rate (7), day rate (1), one-off audit (5), local SEO (4) and link building (2) are each individual data points, shown for reference, not as benchmarks, even after a dedicated second collection round aimed at growing them. Only 2 of 10 recorded regions (North, Midlands) reached the 8-provider minimum within the retainer service; the rest are shown as counts without a median. Freelancer-versus-agency splits remain too thin to compare (3 freelancers of 75 providers). The Clutch directory sample is Clutch's own self-reported band data, not independently verified against each agency's actual invoices, and uses USD bands rather than GBP figures, so it is not directly comparable to the site-published panel above. This page describes what providers state on their own websites and on Clutch; it makes no claim about which providers deliver better results.
How to cite this data
Link to this page and keep the check dates (24 to 25 September 2026), the sample size (75 providers, 186 pages checked) and each metric's stated scope attached to any figure you quote.
Download the aggregate CSV or JSON. Both list aggregate figures only, with no provider names.
Related Reading
- SEO Consultant vs SEO Agency: which model delivers better value for your budget
- How to Choose an SEO Consultant: questions to ask before hiring
- How Long Does SEO Take?: realistic timelines and what drives them
- UK SEO Statistics: more original data from sunnypatel.co.uk
- Freelance SEO Consultant UK: freelancer vs consultant vs agency explained





